Smartphones and Opinions

Although I’m the type of person that usually despises doing something on a smartphone or tablet when it could be more efficiently and more easily done using a computer, I think it’s pertinent to inform you that I am currently writing this post from my brand new iPhone 6. There, it’s out there, I’m an Apple user. I’ll put a break in the text here for those of you who need a moment to process this.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, and before I get into the topic of this post, I feel obligated to defend myself for choosing a side in one of the most vitriolic and polarized debates of our time.
Here are some of the reasons I chose to get another iPhone:

  • I like the operating system, it’s familiar and I like knowing how to use my phone.
  • It comes in a pretty champagne color.
  • It interfaces nicely with my other apple devices.
  • I like it. That’s literally all that should matter.

Also, for those of you that care, I owned Droid before I ever had an iPhone, so I’ve tried both and made a decision based on my experiences and numerous online reviews and comparisons.

Tangential rambling out of the way, I’d like to discuss a question that’s been bothering me for a while: Why the heck are people so concerned with what other people like, do, or spend their money on?
You have a Galaxy? Cool. That’s nice, that means your texts will show up on my phone in green speech bubbles rather than blue. You have an iPhone 6+? Why do you need a phone that big? But, good for you and remember not to put it in your back pocket. You have a Nokia brick phone from the Stone Age? You’re probably gonna survive the zombie apocalypse. Also what’s your high score on Snake? I secretly admire and envy your ability to exist untethered to the omnipresent force known as 3G.
This unnecessary concern with other people’s lives extends far beyond phones. I recently read an article enumerating why adults shouldn’t be reading young adult fiction, which frankly, left me at a loss for words. No human has the authority to tell someone what they can or can’t like. If you want to read the Fault in our Stars and watch the movie until you can recite it and buy all sorts of merchandise branded with the “Okay? Okay.” speech bubble thing, you can absolutely do that regardless of whether or not some snooty English professor approves. If you want to invest your time and money into watching makeup tutorials on YouTube and attempting to recreate Taylor Swift’s VMA smoky eye look, once again, 100% up to you. If you want to spend hundreds of hours recreating King’s Landing in Minecraft, by all means do so, and please share your server IP with me.

I’ve heard many complaints, from different people, all along the lines of “Why does she own so many pairs of shoes, who really wears that many different shoes?” or “Why would you spend so much on concert tickets” or my personal favorite “A new video game costs HOW MUCH?!?!” all of which are usually followed by some proposed “better use” for that money. After hearing enough of these criticisms, I’ve come to the conclusion that everyone has their thing that they spend time or money on, that most other people may not understand and will likely judge.  As long as you have that money to spend, and it’s not interfering with your ability to buy food or pay your rent, you should be free to spend it on whatever you like.

The fact that I bought an iPhone doesn’t make your Galaxy work any differently, it doesn’t mean that I think you should own an iPhone instead, it means that I liked one product better than it’s competition and decided to purchase that product. Likewise, a middle-aged woman reading Divergent is not bringing down the collective intelligence of our society, it’s a woman reading a book that she likes. Illegal, illicit, and morally questionable activities aside, I cannot fathom why anyone is so interested in what someone else enjoys or or purchases.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a new Assassin’s Creed game to buy. Just kidding, I need to buy gas instead.

One thought on “Smartphones and Opinions

  1. I really agree with what you’re saying here. I especially agree with what you said about your owning a certain device not interfering with anyone else’s choices to buy something different. It’s funny how we choose “sides”, Apple, Droid, etc., when it really couldn’t matter less what other people wish to spend their money on.

Leave a Reply

